Quick Links

Quick Links

Fulbrook School

Key Stage 2 Learning Areas

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children can learn the same things. It is organised into blocks of years called Key Stages.

The Key Stage 2 Curriculum is for children aged 7 to 11 years old, in school years 3 to 6. We teach children from age 9, in school year 5.

Key Stage 2 Learning Areas and Information



Wider Curriculum

Progression of Skills

Read 15

Homework Expectations for Key Stage 2 (Years 5 and 6)

Pupils should expect to receive homework for the following subjects each week: English, Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling (GPS), Mathematics, Arithmetic and Science.  These homework tasks should last approximately 20 minutes in duration and students will usually be given one week to complete them. In addition to these homework tasks, we request that children read or are read to daily for 15 minutes. In Year 6, as part of preparing students for their SATs, there will be an increase in the amount of homework set each week, in English and Mathematics.